• Late Sh. Om Parkash Gupta Inter College Debate Contest

    DATE : 13 November 2017

              Under sole inspiration & guidance of Sh. Balraj Bhasin, President S.D.P. Sabha (Regd.) and College Managing Committee, S.D.P. College for Women ,Ldh. organised Sh. O.P. Gupta Memorial Inter college Debate Contest here today in the college . The contest was organised to commemorate the sweet and pious memory of Late Sh. O.P. Gupta, a social and political activist, philanthropist and freedom fighter. Dr. Poonam Preet, MBBS, PCS Assistant Commissioner (Grievances), Ludhiana was the chief guest on the occasion.The members  of the Management present were Sh. Shammi Kapoor, Sh.H.K.Chugh, Sh. Vijayinder Gupta, Sh. Sanjeev Gupta, Sh. Mangal Sen Grover, Principal Jasbeer Chauhan, Deepak Kapoor. Seven college teams participated in this competition. Ms. Sushminder Kaur, Dr K.K. Sharma and Dr Saleem were the judges of the contest. The participants   spoke for and against the motion, Are Demonetisation and GST the right steps towards the Growth of Indian Economy?

    Principal Ms. Manju Bhashinee formally welcomed the chief guest and highlighted the life and achievements of Sh. O.P. Gupta. Hon'ble chief guest Dr. Poonam Preet, MBBS, PCS awarded team trophy and cash prizes of Rs. 1000. Rs.500 and Rs. 300 to the First, Second and Third prize winner. A participation prize of Rs.200 cash was given to all participants. Ms. Poonam Preet said that knowledge is empowering and the students should connect with parents, teachers and society and rise in their respective careers. She encouraged the students to be bold and march ahead in their life to bring a pleasant change in their lives. She also paid tribute to Sh. O.P. Gupta, a seasoned politician and leader of masses and promoter of women empowerment who set up this college so that girls students residing in the vicinity, could avail opportunity of higher education. Ms. Poonam Preet congratulated the prize winners and said that it is not the prize but the participation that matters the most. Hon’ble Gen. Secy. Of College Management Sh.H.K. Chugh delivered a Vote of Thanks.


    Team Trophy- D.D.Jain.Memorial college, Ludhiana

    Ist  Prize- Manisha (D.D. Jain Memorial college,Ldh)

    IInd Prize- Ritu Tondon (D.D. Jain Memorial College, Ldh)

    IIIrd  Prize-  Mehak  (Guru Nanak Girls College, Ldh)